VW Beetle Tale #1

January 18, 2009 at 8:17 pm (Uncategorized)

So once, when in college, my BF (hereafter referred to as J. Drill) and I went out for the evening. It’s the late 70s and things were so very different then. It was before the minivan, the VCR, and stickers on your license plate. We’re in school, broke-ass poor and could barely afford gas for the car let alone license plates and all that other legal shit. So J. Drill decided that since the plates were expired that if she perhaps put a yellow piece of paper, with some scribbling on it, in right side of the window it would appear she had renewed her plates and was just waiting for them to arrive. Don’t laugh, it worked for some time… until…

So we’re on our way out, it’s bitter cold, and we’re cruising along when we see an acquaintance walking. We stopped and asked him if he needed a lift, “sure, thanks!” Dude hops in the back seat and pulls a beer out of his coat. No problem, everyone rode around drinking in cars back then.

About a block later, while turning a corner, we see red flashing. Fuck! If I remember correctly one of us at least had the foresight to rip the fake registration out of the window.

“Miss, can I see your driver’s license? Did you know that your plates are expired? Do you have a registration for your vehicle? Is there anything legal about this vehicle?”  No, he didn’t ask that and I don’t believe asked about insurance either cuz we’d be all like, “Are you fucking kidding me?”

Meanwhile, drunk ass, open-sealed motherfucker in the back seat is rambling on about something like “fuckin’ pigs man.” The situation could have only improved if he had lit a spliff. I think we somehow managed to shut him up and conceal the beer before the cop walked back up to the car. It’s all a bit fuzzy to me as I’m sure I suffered a bit of the vapors from it all.

The officer walked back up to the car and said, “Miss, since you live nearby I will follow you home so you can park your vehicle until it’s properly licensed.”  Breathing a sigh of relief J. Drill just said something like, “thank you, I will get it done tomorrow” (yeah, sure we would).

We got back to our apartment and instead of going upstairs to ours we went downstairs to our friend Ray’s place. J. Drill asked Ray, “Ray, get your new plates yet?” (Back then there was a lag of time there where both plate were legal.) He said yes and she told him, “Good, the pigs just busted me for mine being expired and Poison and I are going out.  Can I borrow your old ones so my car appears legal?”  “Sure, have fun, tootaloo!” And off we went.

4 Comments

  1. J Drill said,

    Was that the night we opened the sunroof to watch it snow? I do believe it was.

  2. poisonsaftertaste said,

    I forgot about that. See, between the two of us we can piece that decade together 😀

  3. talker96 said,

    I thoroughly believe everyone in the seventies has a VW Beetle story, a story on where they were when they took acid and listened to Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts by the Beatles and what their favorite Beetle Baily comic strip was of July, 1974.

    • poisonsaftertaste said,

      I’m glad you’re feeling well enough to post and comment!

Leave a Reply

