Corporate Whining

February 3, 2009 at 10:17 pm (Thought of the Day) (, , , , , )

Disney is now whining about its profits being down in DVD sales:

The company said it earned $845 million, or 45 cents a share, in the quarter ended Dec. 27, compared with a profit of $1.25 billion, or 63 cents a share, in the same quarter a year earlier.

Boo fucking hoo. I am so sick of all the corporate whining and how their profits are down. I know there are many companies truly hurting in this economy but I believe there is a very real possibly more companies are jumping on the bad economy bandwagon to justify their rising costs to the consumer.

I fully admit that I know dick about economics but I do have common sense. When I hear that a company is making almost a billion dollars in a quarter I say there is a good chance the company is still making money.

When gas prices escalated so did our food costs. Does anyone have any idea, now that gas is less than 1/2 of what it was, when food prices will start to come back down? Hahahahaha, I’m funny I know.

But seriously, I’m about to declare a “fuck you…insert company here” letter writing campaign to all major food*, toiletries, and cleaning products manufacturers that I can think of.  I’ve never been much of a generic item kind of shopper but now I am pissed and make it a point, whenever possible, to buy generic**. I am so sick of seeing all my money going down the toilet, literally, so those fuckers can charge me more, downsize the product and then pull shit like this:

Warning! Before you click on the link I think these folks are possibly not that far removed from PETA and their Sea Kittens***.

Kraft foods contain unlabeled GMOs and the company has fought to prevent the passing of labeling requirements.

I found that little gem while trying to do some research on how much of the Kraft Foods product line is actually produced in the U.S. Well I didn’t have much luck since they have manufacturing facilities all over the world and frankly, I just don’t feel like spending much time on the research.

My point is, before I came across the above link I had never heard of these GMOs and was curious to see what Kraft Foods is being accused of. After 30 seconds more of extensive research I was lead to this site where it is explained:

Unlabeled GM sugar in the food supply by 2009

This year, farmers are planting Monsanto’s Roundup-Ready GM sugar beets for sale to food producers for the first time. This beet is genetically engineered to survive multiple, direct applications of the weed killer, Roundup, and its active ingredient, glyphosate. What’s particularly appalling about the approval of this GM sugar beet is that at the time of its approval, Monsanto convinced the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to increase the glyphosate residues allowed on sugar beetroots by an astounding 5,000 percent. This opens up the possibility for excessive pesticide spraying on GM sugar beets.

What’s more—

Beets are wind-pollinated, which means that plants from one field routinely pollinate beets in other fields up to several miles away. GM contamination from cross- pollination would be unavoidable and that could put related vegetable varieties at risk such as green and red chard and golden and red table beets.genetically-modified, pesticide-soaked beet sugar would wind up in just about all non-organic cereal, bread, baby food, cookies, candy, etc., and would be listed in the ingredients merely as “sugar.”  Which really should surprise no one, since it’s not like any other genetically-modified, pesticide-soaked products are labeled as such—who would buy them?

Admittedly, I’m lazy and truly don’t care enough to probe any further so feel free to educate me in the comments.

You know what this is all coming to. If things don’t turn around soon I’m going to have to turn my beautiful Kentucky Blue into 1/2 garden, 1/2 pasture, and live off the fat of the land. So help me out here and stock up on your generics, write some emails, get all proactive and shit.

* We will exclude beverages as some things you just can’t repudiate, they are the elixir of life, and most likely the only thing getting most of us through these End of Days.

** I know that by buying generic I’m probably not making any kind of statement to The Man and the generics are probably manufactured by terrorists or something. However, I am saving money and hopefully not helping some CEO buy a $1400 waste basket.

*** I was going to link PETA and their Sea Kittens but I don’t want them anywhere near my blog or my furs! You’ll just have to Google it.

1 Comment

  1. J Drill said,

    OMG you borrow my soap box?

Leave a Reply

