No I Can’t

April 21, 2009 at 2:40 pm (Quote of the Day) (, , , , , )

So my coworker has an adult sister that has Down Syndrome but is considered very high functioning. Yesterday coworker (CW) was busy so she asked her sister to wait for the delivery guy and when he arrived to sign for the item. DS sister says to CW that she can’t, CW says, “yes you can, when he arrives and hands you the paper just sign your name.” DS sister says, “no I can’t,” CW says “yes you can,” DS sister finally says, “NO I CAN”T… I”M RETARDED!”*

And CW, just because she could, calls their cousin and tells her to call DS sister in five minutes and remind her to sign for the the delivery.

*In all seriousness, I’m sure at some point in time she has been instructed about signing things and was just following those instructions or she just didn’t feel like signing, it’s hard to say.

1 Comment

  1. LeeAnn said,

    I use that excuse all the time although clinically I don’t qualify.
    Unless you ask my husband. And my mom. And my sister. And that clerk at WalMart who has to tell me every single time how to slide my card. And Santa Claus.

Leave a Reply

